Restaurants

What are the best restaurants in Sofia?

As in any European capital, you can enjoy a variety of culinary delights in Sofia. We have put together a list of TOP 10 restaurants in Sofia for you. We deliberately did not establish a ranking within Sofia’s TOP 10 restaurants, as the restaurants cover different spectrums (am I looking for brunch restaurants?, Am I looking for Bulgarian cuisine? Etc.). The above list is divided into restaurants that offer Bulgarian cuisine and the “rest of the world”.

Bulgarian restaurants

If you want to experience Bulgarian cuisine, there is no way around a traditional Bulgarian restaurant like the restaurant “under the linden trees” (in Bulgarian: Pod Lipite). Bulgarian folklore, live folk music and such delicious food, what more could you want! 😉 The restaurant is very busy, especially on weekends, so we recommend you. You can easily make the reservation by calling +35928665053.

In this rustic ambience you can try many traditional Bulgarian dishes, such as the “Tarator” (cold yogurt and cucumber soup with dill and garlic) in summer:

 

    •  

The Moma Restaurant is of higher quality in terms of furnishings, less rustic than the Pod Lipite, so very modern, but peppered with traditional elements.

The menu offers a lot of choice and there is certainly also something for visitors who do not want to experiment too much. If you want to try very good Bulgarian wines, you will definitely find them here.

The location of the restaurant is right in the center in a quiet side street, not far from the main shopping street “Vitosha Boulevard”.

In summer you can have a good time on the beautiful summer terrace of the restaurant:

 

Cozy and rustic are the two words I would use to describe the Izbata Tavern. The waitresses can mostly speak English, there are English menus. Communication here shouldn’t be a problem at all. As in the Moma and Pod lipite, traditional Bulgarian cuisine is served here.

The restaurant is located in the basement and does not have a very large terrace, so other variants seem more suitable, especially in summer. The interior is really neat, as you can see here:

… and enjoy the traditional Bulgarian cuisine:

 

International restaurants

As already described, we also recommend the following interesting restaurants, which offer international cuisine (some with Bulgarian elements).

A chic restaurant with very interesting and innovative dishes is the Shtastlivesta restaurant. Located on the 1st floor of the San Stefano Plaza shopping center, this restaurant is not easy to find.

The retro-vintage interior design speaks for itself:

Some guests find the interior to be a little dated, but for others, it is just what they were looking for.

The location of the Shtastlivetsa San Stefano Plaza is in the popular “Doctor’s Garden” quarter, right behind the Kliment Ohridski University. This upscale residential area of ​​Sofia also fits the target group of the restaurant. From our point of view, it is definitely one of the TOP 10 restaurants in Sofia.

Have a nice meal:

 

Do you want to eat Italian? … in a modern restaurant with excellent cuisine in the affluent and rather chic part of Sofia, in the “Doctor’s Garden district”. Then you are at the right place in the Pasteria!

Here the typical Italian dishes are served at a good level and you can’t go wrong with the selection of dishes.

Here you get an impression of the interior design, which is not “high-end”, but exudes positive “vibes” from our point of view:

You can also try numerous Italian wines here, the restaurant’s current wine list is very extensive and mostly contains wines from Western Europe.

The mission that the restaurant “La Pasteria” has given itself is at least very demanding:

 

Forno Cipollini is another option for Italian dining. Also located in the “Doctor’s Garden” district, you can spend a very nice time here, especially when the weather is nice and with pleasant temperatures in front of the entrance area of ​​the restaurant.

Otherwise, we left nothing to be desired in terms of the dishes and the wine list. The best pizza in Sofia is served here … and another tip for you: The tiramisu is really world class here! 😉

 

ATTENTION: Only for breakfast or brunch !! There are currently two Rainbow Factory restaurants in town (see link) that have one of the best brunch menus in town. Here you can choose between a typical Bulgarian breakfast such as “Mekitza” or international dishes such as an omelette:

However, it has to be said that the space available in both locations is very limited, so it is best not to stop by at the best brunch time, as the places are often full … but if you get a place, you will not be disappointed be. The Rainbow Factory is definitely one of the TOP 10 restaurants in Sofia.

We wish a lot of fun!

 

The Tables restaurant is located in the middle of Sofia’s main shopping street, the “Vitosha Boulevard”. Similar to the Rainbow Factory, we only recommend this restaurant for breakfast / brunch! In our opinion, there are better locations to spend nice evenings here.

Especially in good weather you can have a very good breakfast outside:

But even in colder weather, the interior of the restaurant or the winter terrace (including patio heaters) offers enough space for its guests:

 

It couldn’t be more central! Right next to the Sv. Nedelya Church, which is right in the middle of town, is where the Spaghetti Kitchen Bar is located. Dessert lovers in particular can choose one dream dessert after another in the Spaghetti Kitchen display case. The kitchen is open and can be seen by the guests.

This location is perfect for lunch or dinner … or for a cappuccino including dessert in between. From there, the main strolling mile “Vitosha Boulevard” is only a stone’s throw away.

What it looks like in the Spaghetti Kitchen Bar and an impression of the atmosphere can be seen very well in this video:

 

The restaurant of one of the most famous chefs in Bulgaria is located in a side street off “Vitosha Boulevard”. Here you can expect upscale cuisine at a fair price: for example, truffle dishes, trout with roasted walnuts, octopus with smoked peppers, beef tongue with pumpkin seeds, etc. are part of the menu.

We wish you a great culinary experience… ..and especially recommend the brunch offer of the restaurant on the weekend (buffet). In the following you will get an impression of the interior of the restaurant:

These would be our TOP 10 restaurants in Sofia! Do you have any further suggestions and / or comments? Please send them to us at the e-mail address mail@sofia-top10.com. We are happy to answer your inquiries.

Restaurants

Was sind die besten Restaurants in Sofia?

Wie in jeder europäischen Hauptstadt kannst Du in Sofia vielfältige kulinarische Köstlichkeiten genießen. Wir haben Dir eine Liste TOP 10 Restaurants in Sofia zusammengestellt. Wir haben absichtlich keine Rangfolge innerhalb Sofias TOP 10 Restaurants hergestellt, da die Restaurants unterschiedliche Spektren abdecken (suche ich Brunch-Restaurants?, suche ich bulgarische Küche? usw.).

Die o.g Auflistung unterteilt sich in Restaurants, welche die bulgarische Küche anbieten, und den „Rest der Welt“.

 

Bulgarische Restaurants

Wenn Ihr die bulgarische Küche erleben wollt, kommt Ihr an einem traditionellen bulgarischen Restaurant wie dem Restaurant „Unter den Linden“ (auf Bulgarisch: Pod Lipite) nicht vorbei. Bulgarische Folklore, live Volksmusik und so leckeres Essen, was will man mehr! 😉

Das Restaurant ist insbesondere am Wochenende sehr gut besucht, so dass wir Euch empfehlen. Unter der Telefonnummer +35928665053 könnt ihr die Reservierung problemlos vornehmen.

 

In diesem urigen Ambiente könnt ihr viele traditionelle bulgarische Gerichte ausprobieren, wie zum Beispiel im Sommer, das „Tarator“ (kalte Jogurt-Gurkensuppe mit Dill und und Knoblauch):

 

Das Moma Restaurant ist von der Einrichtung her hochwertiger, weniger urig als das Pod Lipite, also sehr modern, jedoch mit traditionellen Elementen gespickt.

Die Speisekarte bietet sehr viel an Auswahl und es ist sicherlich auch etwas für Besucher dabei, die nicht so viel experimentieren wollen. Falls ihr sehr gute bulgarische Weine ausprobieren wollt, werdet ihr hier auf jeden Fall fündig.

Die Lage des Restaurants ist mitten im Zentrum in einer ruhigen Seitenstraße, unweit der Haupteinkaufsmeile „Vitosha Boulevard“.

Im Sommer könnt ihr in der schönen Sommer-Terrasse des Restaurants eine gute Zeit verbringen:

 

Gemütlich und rustikal sind die beiten Worte, die ich für die Beschreibung der Izbata Taverne verwenden würde. Die Bedienungen können meistens englisch sprechen, es gibt englische Menüs. Hier sollte die Verständigung überhaupt kein Problem darstellen. Wie auch im Moma und Pod lipite wird hier traditionelle bulgarische Küche angeboten.

Das Restaurant liegt im Keller und hat keine sehr große Terrasse, so dass insbesondere zur Sommerzeit andere Varianten als geeigneter erscheinen. Das Intérieur ist wirklich gepflegt, wie ihr hier seht:

….und genießen Sie die traditionelle bulgarische Küche:

 

Internationale Restaurants

Wie bereits beschrieben, empfehlen wir Euch weiterhin folgende interessante Restaurants, welche eine internationaler Küche (teilweise mit bulgarischen Elementen) anbieten.

 

Ein schickes Restaurant mit sehr interessanten und innovativen Gerichten ist das Shtastlivesta-Restaurant. In dem 1. Obergeschoss des Einkaufszentrums San Stefano Plaza gelegen, ist dieses Restaurant nicht einfach zu finden.

Die Retro-Vintage-Inneneinrichtung spricht für sich selbst:

Einige Gäste empfinden die Inneneinrichtung als etwas altmodisch, für Andere wiederum ist es genau das, was sie gesucht haben.

Die Lage des Shtastlivetsa San Stefano Plaza ist im beliebten „Doctor’s Garden“-Viertel, gleich hinter der Kliment Ohridski Universität. Dieses gehobene Wohnviertel Sofias passt auch zur Zielgruppe des Restaurants. Aus unserer Sicht gehört es definitiv zu den TOP 10 Restaurants in Sofia.

Wir wünschen guten Appetit:

 

Du möchtest italienisch essen? …in einem modern eingerichteten Restaurant mit exzellenter Küche im wohlhabenden und eher schicken Teil Sofias, im „Doctor’s Garden-Viertel“. Dann bist Du in der Pasteria genau richtig!

Hier werden die typischen italienischen Gerichte auf gutem Niveau serviert und man kann mit der Auswahl an Gerichten wenig falsch machen.

Hier erhältst Du einen Eindruck von der Inneneinrichtung, die zwar nicht „high-end“ ist, dafür aber aus unserer Sicht positive „Vibes“ ausstrahlt:

Des Weiteren könnt ihr hier zahlreiche italienische Weine probieren, die aktuelle Weinkarte des Restaurants ist sehr umfangreich und enthält mehrheitlich Weine aus Westeuropa.

Die Mission, die sich das Restaurant „La Pasteria“ gegeben hat, ist zumindest sehr anspruchsvoll:

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Restaurant erhaltet ihr unter folgendem Link: La Pasteria

 

Eine weitere Möglichkeit, italienisch essen zu gehen, bietet das Forno Cipollini. Ebenso im „Doctor’s Garden“-Viertel gelegen kann man hier insbesondere bei schönem Wetter mit angenehmen Temperaturen vor dem Eingangsbereichs des Restaurants eine sehr schöne Zeit verbringen.

Ansonsten blieben bei uns keine Wünsche offen, was die Gerichte und die Weinkarte angeht. Hier wird die beste Pizza in Sofia serviert….und ein weiterer Tipp für Dich: Der Tiramisu ist hier wirklich Weltklasse!! 😉

 

ACHTUNG: Nur zum Frühstück oder Brunch!! Es gibt aktuell zwei Rainbow Factory-Restaurants in der Stadt (siehe Link), in denen es eine der besten Brunch-Menüs der Stadt gibt. Hier kannst Du zwischen einem typischen bulgarischen Frühstück wie „Mekitza“ oder internationale Speisen wir beispielsweise ein Omelett:

Allerdings muss man sagen, dass das Platzangebot in beiden Locations sehr begrenzt ist, so dass ihr am besten nicht zur allerbesten Brunch-Zeit vorbeischauen solltet, da oftmals die Plätze belegt sind….falls ihr jedoch einen Platz ergattern solltest, werdet ihr bestimmt nicht enttäuscht sein. Die Rainbow Factory gehört auf jeden Fall in die TOP 10 Restaurants in Sofia.

Wir wünschen viel Spaß!

 

Mitten auf der Haupteinkaufsmeile Sofias, dem „Vitosha Boulevard“, befindet sich das Tables-Restaurant. Analog zur Rainbow Factory empfehlen wir dieses Restaurant lediglich für ein Frühstück/Brunch! Um hier schöne Abende zu verbringen gibt es aus unserer Sicht bessere Locations.

Insbesondere bei gutem Wetter könnt ihr draußen ein sehr gutes Frühstück zu Euch nehmen:

Aber auch bei kälterem Wetter bietet der Innenraum des Restaurants oder auch die Winterterrasse (inkl. Heizpilzen) ausreichend Platz für seine Gäste:

 

Zentraler geht es nicht!! Gleich neben der Sv. Nedelya-Kirche, die genau in der Mitte der Stadt liegt, befindet sich die Spaghetti Kitchen Bar. Insbesondere Dessert-Liebhaber können sich in der Vitrine des Spaghetti Kitchen ein Traum-Dessert nach dem anderen aussuchen. Die Küche ist offen und von den Gästen einsehbar.

Für Mittag- oder Abendessen …oder den Cappuccino inklusive Dessert für zwischendurch eignet sich diese Location perfekt. Von dort aus ist die Haupt-Schlendermeile „Vitosha-Boulevard“ nur einen Katzensprung entfernt.

Wie es in der Spaghetti Kitchen Bar aussieht und einen Eindruck zur Atmosphäre, könnt ihr sehr gut diesem Video entnehmen:

 

Das Restaurant eines der berühmtesten Köche Bulgariens befindet sich in einer Seitenstraße des „Vitosha Boulevards“. Hier könnt ihr eine gehobene Küche zu einem fairen Preis erwarten: beispielsweise sind Trüffelgerichte, Forelle mit gerösteten Walnüssen, Oktopus mit geräucherter Paprika, Rindzunge mit Kürbissamen usw. Bestandteil der Karte.

Wir wünschen ein tolles kulinarisches Erlebnis…..und empfehlen insbesondere das Brunch-Angebot des Restaurants am jeweiligen Wochenende (Buffet). Im Folgenden erhaltet ihr einen Eindruck über den Innenbereich des Restaurants:

 

Dies wären unsere TOP 10 Restaurants in Sofia! Habt ihr weitere Vorschläge und/oder Anmerkungen? Lasst uns diese gerne unter der E-mail-Adresse mail@sofia-top10.com zukommen. Wir beantworten Eure Anfragen gerne.